Oh xdebug, where art thou?

I don’t have a stable development environment. I change hardware and software frequently so whenever my wife’s web site needs a revision I usually have to set everything up from scratch. I always develop on a Linux box (I am a Fedora user) and I’ll usually set up an apache server with MySQL running. For development I prefer NetBeans but I’ll use Eclipse if I have to.
For debugging I use XDebug and this is where the fun starts…

It never seems to be a smooth ride getting XDebug up and running, no matter what I do and judging from the many desperate cries for help on various forum threads I am not alone.

This blog post will not solve all your problems with getting xdebug working but I hope it might help you and give you a better set of tools to solve the problem.

The “problem” here manifests itself in NetBeans or Eclipse failing to connect to the debugger.

Firstly, if you have installed xdebug using any of the normal methods and phpinfo() shows an xdebug section then, at least in my experience, you’re good to go and any amount of hacks and fiddling in ini files is unlikely to fix your problem.
It is much more likely then that the problem is external and here is my simple check list of culprits that always seem to be behind my woes, either individually or together;

  • is your firewall allowing port 9000? (the default xdebug port, yours might be different but try not to fiddle with it too much)
  • is SELinux blocking you?

Run your firewall tool of choice (I just run system-config-firewall on Fedora) and check, or add, port 9000. Now try again…if working be happy, else…
Check if SELinux is barking about blocking a “name_connect” and see if port 9000 isn’t mentioned as well. If it is then you need to allow connections, obviously, and since I am not running my Linux box in an environment where I need to be too concerned about paranoid security I just blanket allow httpd (the apache server service I’m running on Fedora) to do whatever it wants;

#setsebool -P httpd_can_network_connect 1

If that doesn’t fix it then I sympathise because nothing is quite as frustrating as struggling with tools when all you want is to get the job done. But, in my humble experience at least, it seems to always end up being something like the above, I.e. something external is blocking xdebug from working. My point is that, unless you have a very peculiar set up, a plain vanilla install of xdebug with the standard ini file entries is fine and you should avoid fiddling with it before you’ve checked the external conditions – even though forum threads out there are quick to suggest it.

Good luck and happy debugging!

Leave a Reply

